Sixty Student Athletes Added to Tino Martinez Award Watch List

University of Tampa great Tino Martinez

University of Tampa great Tino Martinez

Based on their outstanding play this season sixty players have been added to the 2013 Tino Martinez Award Watch List. The award is presented to the most outstanding player in DII college baseball. The annual honor is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick, MLB All-Star and newly named member of the College Baseball Hall of Fame, Tino Martinez. Semifinalists are scheduled to be announced on
May 6th, 2013.

Initial nominations for the award were made by baseball sports information contacts, coaches and media members. A panel of media, coaches and sports information officers was polled to finalize the candidates and determine the winner. A fan Internet vote also contributes to the final vote.

The recipient of the 2012 Tino Martinez Award was senior first baseman Nathan Minnich of Shepherd University (W.Va.). Minnich finished the season batting .487 (74 for 152) with 21 home runs, 12 doubles and 72 RBIs, while racking up a .980 slugging percentage. He led the country in slugging percentage, on-base percentage, walks per game and RBIs.

Chase Larsson of the Cameron Aggies was the recipient of the award last season after leading DII in home runs (29), RBI (84), slugging percentage (1.000) and total bases (190). Mount Olive’s Carter Capps, the 2011 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s National Pitcher of the Year, finished in a close second.

Erskine’s Bryan Fogle won the first edition of the award in 2010 after batting .430 and leading DII with 28 home runs, 103 RBI (the second most in NCAA history) and 203 total bases. The Flying Fleet star was drafted by Tampa Bay following the season. Runner-up Hayden Simpson of Southern Arkansas was a first round draft choice of the Chicago Cubs.

Visit for more information.

Click here to see the initial 2013 Tino Martinez Award Watch List release.

(Players sorted by team)

Name Year Position Team
Albaugh, Matt Sr. C Kutztown
Aldridge, Tyler Sr. 2B/3B Delta State
Baker, Nick Jr. RHP Chico State
Barkell, Ty So. 1B USC Aiken
Barlow, Kaleb Jr. 2B West Florida
Baur, Albert So. 1B Newberry
Beasley, Derek> Jr. LHP USC Aiken
Becker, Sean Jr. RHP Cal State East Bay
Berry, Jermaine Sr. 3B Mount Olive
Boston, Dylan So. DH North Alabma
Brock, Chandler So. OF Alabama Huntsville
Bruns, Coley So. RHP Grand Canyon
Busby, Andrew Sr. RHP Alabama Huntsville
Carpenter, Garrett Jr. UTL Colorado Mesa
Cudney, Nate Sr. LHP Belmont Abbey
Danner, Joey Jr. LHP Colorado Mesa
Dotson, Bubba Sr. OF Missouri Western State
Duff, Jim So. RHP Stonehill
Easterling, Brannon Jr. RHP St. Edward’s
Edgerton, Jordan So. 3B UNC Pembroke
Esquerra, Zach Jr. OF Cal Baptist
Fink, Grant Sr. 3B Missouri Western State
Fischer, Garrett Jr. OF St. Cloud State
Garza, Alexis Jr. RHP Incarante Word
Gerstenslage, Bill Sr. DH USC Aiken
Gratza, Kevin Jr. OF Central Missouri
Harris, David Sr. SS Southen Arkansas
Hatt, Dave Sr. RHP Wilmington
Helwich, Tom Jr. LHP Lewis
Henrichs, Mikey Sr. 1B Upper Iowa
Jay, Peter Sr. RHP New Haven
Jeremiah, Pierson Sr. 3B Chico State
Kellogg, Caleb Jr. RHP Tampa
Kondla, Fico Jr. 1B Coker
Kregeloh, Pat Jr. 1B Shippensburg
Mayza, Tim Jr. LHP Millersville
Murphy, Chris So. RHP Millersville
Name Year Position Team
Obrochta, Connor Jr. OF Tampa
Owen, Jeff So. RHP Cal State Monterey Bay
Pemberton, Logan> Jr. LHP Lander
Perez, Jonathan Sr. RHP St. Mary’s
Pezzuto, Andrew Gr. 2B/IF Southern New Hampshire
Regan, Alex So. LHP Mount Olive
Reitano, Bradon Jr. SS/2B Mount Olive
Robinson, Cody Jr. OF Northeastern State
Rodriguez, Jose Sr. OF Nova Southeastern
Rodriguez, Vinny So. OF Montevallo
Rosenberger, Jonathan So. RHP Newberry
Schulze, Michael Jr. SS Missouri Western State
Scott, Cameron Sr. 1B Columbus St.
Shepard John-Austin Jr. RHP Tusculum
Sidhu, Harmen Sr. RHP Sonoma State
Sortwell, Alex Jr. OF Ashland
Teague, Kyle Sr. RHP Grand Valley State
Ward, Davis Jr. RHP Ouachita Baptist
Warner, Jake Jr. 2B Pitt-Johnstown
Wolchick Dylan Jr. RHP Lander
Wright, Jordan Jr. RHP Henderson State
Wuest, Brian Sr. 1B/OF Nebraska Kearney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>