Mid Major Rankings (Regular Season Final)

For the purpose of these rankings, the ACC, Big East, Big West, Big XII, Conference USA, Pac 12 and SEC conferences are excluded. TCU is also omitted.

Rank Comment
1 Purdue Boilermakers - The Boilermakers (44-12) won the Big 10 regular-season and tournament titles and were selected to host an opening-weekend Regional in the upcoming NCAA Tournament.
2 Coastal Carolina Chanticleers - The ‘Chants (41-18) won their six straight regular-season Big South championships with a 4-1 victory over Liberty. CCU has also won six straight regular-season championships.
3 Dallas Baptist Patriots - Dallas Baptist (39-17) had their regualr season come to a close May 19th when they won a series over Bradley. With a high RPI thanks the Pats will once again be playing in a regional.
4 Pepperdine Waves - The Waves (34-21) secured the West Coast Conference crown with a series win over San Diego. It is the program’s 18th regular-season WCC title, first since 2006 for the Waves who are playing their best ball at season’s end.
5 Kent State Golden Flashes - With a win over Central Michigan Kent State (41-17) earned its fourth straight MAC Tournament title The Flashes have won 32 of their last 39 games – including 21 of their last 23 as they enter the extended postseason.
6 UNC Wilmington Seahawks - The Seahawks (38-21) advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time in the program’s history after winning both the Colonial Athletic Association’s regular and post season titles.
7 San Diego Toreros- USD (40-15) dropped a 5-1 decision to Pepperdine to finish second behind the Waves in the West Coast Conference. The Toreros had lead the WCC for most of the season before being usurped the final weekend.
8 Sam Houston State Bearkats - Sam Houston (38-20) was eliminated in the Southland Conference tournament semifinals after a walk-off home run by upstart UT-Arlington. The ‘Kats did soundly secure the regular season Southland Conferece title.
9 Utah Valley Wolverines - UVU (39-11) Utah Valley clinched its third straight Great West Conference Tournament title; however the conference does not get an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Wolverines won 40 of their last 41 games.
10 New Mexico State Aggies - NM State (35-22) won the Western Athletic Conference regular season title, but lost back to back games to start the WAC tournament for a quick elimination.

Next Ten: Appalachian State Mountaineers, Indiana State Sycamores, Southeastern Louisiana, Missouri State Bears, Cal Poly Mustangs, Stony Brook Seawolves, UT Arlington Mavericks, New Mexico Lobos, Michigan State Spartans, College of Charleston Cougars