Harmen Sidhu Named 2013 Tino Martinez Award Winner

sidhuHarmen Sidhu, a senior pitcher for the Sonoma State Seawolves, has been named the 2013 Tino Martinez Award winner. The honor goes to DII college baseball’s most outstanding player.

Sidhu’s 0.98 ERA was tops in the nation and he tied for twelfth in wins as he went 10-1 in a dozen starts. Sidhu only allowed 47 hits in 82.2 innings, which amounted to a paltry .165 batting average against him. He also fanned 93 batters for a ratio of 10.13 per nine innings which placed in twenty-third nationally. He also impressively only allowed five extra base hits and 23 walks for the entire season. Sidhu was also a true student-athlete and compiled one other impressive number, a 3.4 GPA.

After the season Sidhu was named to First Team All-CCAA, First Team All-West Region and earned First Team All-America honors by the American Baseball Coaches Association and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and was a Second Team All-America selections by Daktronics, Inc.

Sidhu won a closely contested award and became the first pither to win the honor, edging Minnesota State’s Harvey Martin and Nebraska-Kearney’s Brian Wuest who finished second and third respectively. Seton Hill’s Nick Sell and Columbus State’s Cameron Scott completed the top five.

About Tino Martinez
The Tino Martinez Award is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez. Martinez was a three-time All-American and still holds a number of UT records including career home runs (54), career slugging percentage (.736), career on base percentage (.494), single season batting average (.452) and single season slugging percentage (.957). While he wore a Spartan uniform Tampa advanced to their first NCAA Division II National Championships (1986 and ’87) and won their first of twelve SSC Championships (’87). Martinez was elected to the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2013. Current LSU head coach Paul Mainieri has been quoted as stating Martinez was, “the best player I’ve ever coached against”.

Previous Tino Martinez Award Winners
2012 – Nathan Minnich, Shepherd Rams
2011 – Chase Larsson, Cameron Aggies
2010- Bryan Fogle, Erskine Flying Fleet

Visit www.tinoaward.com for more information about the award.