Rice’s Michael Aquino Wins 2013 College Home Run Derby

Rice University junior Michael Aquino won the 2013 TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby at TD Ameritrade Park in front of sell-out crowd of 23,731 people. The final round came down to Aquino and Georgia Tech freshman Matt Gonzalez. Gonzalez, the relative underdog who hit just three home runs during the regular season (the fewest of the eight competitors chosen for the event), stepped to the plate first and sent five balls out of the park. Aquino, who hit nine home runs during the 2013 regular season, launched three out early, but lost his groove in the middle of his at-bat. With only one out remaining, Aquino rose to the occasion by blasting the next two pitches out, causing the eliminated players to mob him at home plate and the fans to erupt in cheers.

“Tonight was one of the most amazing nights I’ve ever had on a baseball diamond,” Aquino said after the presentation of the first place trophy. “I feel so lucky to have had this opportunity and even more happy to get the Rice “R” back in Omaha this year.”

2013 College Home Run Derby Final Results
Michael Aquino, Rice: 6+8+6=20
Matt Gonzalez, Georgia Tech: 6+5+5=16
Kenny Towns, Virginia: 4+4=8
Bo Thompson, The Citadel: 4+3=7
Caleb Adams, UL-Lafayette: 3
DJ Stewart, Florida State: 3
Joey Pankake, South Carolina: 2
Garrett Boulware, Clemson: 2