2012 Tino Martinez Award Semi Finalists Announced

The Semifinalists for the 2012 Tino Martinez Award have been revealed. The award is presented to the most outstanding player in DII college baseball. The annual honor is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez.

The fifty-five semi-finalists represent forty-eight different schools from across the nation. Seven schools, Grand Valley State, Mercyhurst, North Alabama, Nova Southeastern, St. Anselm, St. Mary’s and Western Oregon each had two players on the list.

Each of the eight geographic regions are represented, with a minimum of six players selected from each area. Six players comprise the semi-finalists from the Atlantic, Central, East and West Regions, seven student-athletes make up the list from the Midwest and South Central, eight from the Southeast and nine players have been included from the South.

Initial nominations for the award were made by baseball sports information contacts and media members. A panel of media, coaches and sports information officers will be polled to finalize the candidates. The group will once again vote on the finalists, with a fan Internet vote also contributing to the crowning of the winner.

The finalists are scheduled to be named on Monday, May 21st. The winner will be announced after the conclusion of the DII Baseball Championship held in Cary, NC from May 26th to June 2th.

Chase Larsson of the Cameron Aggies was the recipient of the 2011 Tino Martinez DII Player of the Year Award. Larsson finished the season for the Aggies leading DII in home runs (29), RBI (84), slugging percentage (1.000) and total bases (190). He also finished the regular season batting .432, good for 11th overall in the nation. Larsson also incredibly established a new NCAA Division II record when he mashed a homerun in nine consecutive games during one stretch. Mount Olive’s Carter Capps, the 2011 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s National Pitcher of the Year, finished in a close second.

Erskine’s Bryan Fogle of won the first edition of the award in 2010 after batting .430 and leading DII with 28 home runs, 103 RBI (the second most in NCAA history) and 203 total bases. The Flying Fleet star was drafted by Tampa Bay following the season. Runner-up Hayden Simpson of Southern Arkansas was a first round draft choice of the Chicago Cubs.

Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Latshaw Shane Sr. OF Mercyhurst PSAC
Minnich Nathan Sr. 1B/DH Shepherd WVIAC
Petty Kyle Jr. UTL Cal U (PA) PSAC
Rawding Ben Jr. LHP Mercyhurst PSAC
Sell Nicholas Fr. 3B Seton Hill WVIAC
Wendle Joe Jr. 2B/SS West Chester PSAC
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Birr Logan Sr. RHP St. Cloud State NSIC
Hansen Derek Jr. UTL Augustana (SD) NSIC
Kincaid Ben Sr. P/OF Minnesota State NSIC
Lippincott Bryan Sr. 3B Concordia St. Paul NSIC
Popick Jeff Sr. OF Colorado Mesa RMAC
Wuest Brian Jr. OF Nebraska-Kearney RMAC
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Cannon Casey Jr. RHP Le Moyne NE-10
Flight Tim Jr. LHP Southern New Hampshire NE-10
Harbach Joe Sr. OF Wilmington CACC
Healy John Sr. LHP St. Anselm NE-10
Kelly Robert Jr. P/1B St. Anselm NE-10
Mathieu Zach So. 1B Franklin Pierce NE-10
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Anderson Steve Sr. OF Grand Valley State GLIAC
Cacique Brayan Sr. 2B/OF Lake Erie GLIAC
Drake Donovan Sr. RHP U Indy GLVC
Grana Kyle Jr. RHP Bellarmine GLVC
Loeding Brett Jr. RHP Northern Kentucky GLVC
Priestes Aaron Jr. OF Quincy GLVC
Schepel Kyle Sr. RHP Grand Valley State GLIAC
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Asuaje Carlos So. 2B Nova Southeastern Sunshine St
Bierman Sean Sr. LHP Tampa Sunshine St
Boughner Chad Jr. RHP North Alabama Gulf South
Boza Anthony Sr. 1B Lynn Sunshine St
Cuda Joey Sr. RHP Eckerd Sunshine St
Glisson Christian Sr. DH Valdosta State Gulf South
Mitchell Colton Jr. LHP Delta State Gulf South
Regoli Areo Sr OF Nova Southeastern Sunshine St
Schmidt Michael Jr. 2B North Alabama Gulf South
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Neumann Lee Jr. OF Angelo State Lone Star
Johnson Stephen Jr. RHP St. Edward’s Heartland
Perez Jonathan Jr. RHP St. Mary’s Heartland
Rycroft Austin Sr. OF Central Oklahoma Independent
Solis Rene So. LHP St. Mary’s Heartland
Stoppelman Lee Sr. LHP Central Missouri MIAA
Thomas Justin Jr LHP Southern Arkansas Great American Conference
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Allison Casey Sr. OF Wingate South Atlantic
Carmon Stephen Sr. SS USC Aiken Peach Belt
Goodman Craig Sr. RHP Tusculum South Atlantic
Jordan Spencer Jr. RHP Francis Marion Peach Belt
Koeneman Kyle Sr. 1B Carson-Newman South Atlantic
Pate Coty Sr. 1B Mars Hill South Atlantic
Rogers Jacob Sr. 1B Mount Olive Conf Carolinas
Taylor Zach Jr. OF Armstrong Atlantic State Peach Belt
Last Name First Name Yr Pos School Conference
Broussard Geoff Sr. RHP Cal Poly Pomona Calf Collegiate
Duran Daniel Sr. 3B Cal St Los Angeles Calf Collegiate
Folkinga Bo Sr. 1B Western Oregon Great Northwest
Odom Kevin Sr. 2B Cal Baptist Pacific West
Susdorf Danny Jr. OF UC San Diego Calf Collegiate
Wood Grady Sr. RHP Western Oregon Great Northwest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>